Dynamo Repeats as MLS Champ

New England loses to Houston in second straight final, 2-1
By Jesse Andrews,  Newser User
Posted Nov 18, 2007 9:18 PM CST
Houston Dynamo's Dwayne De Rosario holds up the MVP trophy after the MLS Cup championship soccer game Sunday, Nov. 18, 2007, in Washington . The Dynamo defeated the New England Revolution 2 -1 to win...   (Associated Press)
camera-icon View 2 more images

(Newser) – Houston rallied to win their second straight MLS final, knocking off New England, 2-1. The Dynamo did its damage in the second half on goals by Joseph Ngwenya and finals MVP Dwayne De Rosario. De Rosario's cross set up Ngwenya's goal, which the striker hit after a mortifying whiff. De Rosario's score was a rare header.

The Dynamo became the fourth Houston team to repeat as champs in their league, following the Oilers, Rockets, and Comets, and they are the first club to repeat in the MLS since DC United (96-97). Revolution forward Taylor Twellman hit the first finals goal in New England history.