Malaysia's Ruling Coalition Wins 13th Straight Vote
80% turnout amid strong opposition push
By Newser Editors and Wire Services
Posted May 5, 2013 10:30 AM CDT
Updated May 5, 2013 12:49 PM CDT
Malaysian opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim votes with his wife Wan Azizah at a polling station at Penanti in Penang state in northern Malaysia, Sunday, May 5, 2013. Malaysian's go to the polls Sundy in...   (Mark Baker)

(Newser) – Malaysia's long-governing coalition has won national elections to extend its 56 years of unbroken rule, fending off the strongest opposition it has ever faced. The Election Commission reported that Prime Minister Najib Razak's National Front coalition captured 112 of Malaysia's 222 parliamentary seats to win a simple majority today. Opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim's three-party alliance seized 57 seats. Other races were too close to call.

It was the National Front's 13th consecutive victory in general elections since independence from Britain in 1957. It faced its most unified challenge ever from an opposition that hoped to capitalize on allegations of arrogance, abuse of public funds, and racial discrimination against the government. The Election Commission estimated more than 10 million voted for a record turnout of 80% of 13 million registered voters.

View 7 more images

Copyright 2016 Newser, LLC. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed. AP contributed to this report.

More From Newser
My Take on This Story
To report an error on this story,
notify our editors.
Malaysians Flood Polls in Charged Vote is...
Show results without voting
You Might Like
Showing 2 of 2 comments
May 5, 2013 3:06 PM CDT
The story is about what's right with Malaysia (one of the true success stories in the pantheon of post colonial horrors in the 20th and 21st centuries.) if we want to draw lessons we should be looking at their parliamentary system, which has resulted in amazing voter turn-out and a history of relatively peaceful elections since 1969.
May 5, 2013 1:32 PM CDT
I could kiss the ground for our two-term limit on Presidents. Now if we only had a 12-year limit on Congress.