Cubs' Piniella, Rays' Maddon Voted Top Managers

Chicago posted NL's most wins; Tampa Bay had first-ever winning season, reached World Series
By Ambreen Ali,  Newser User
Posted Nov 12, 2008 3:12 PM CST
Lou Piniella argues with an umpire during last season. He won his third manager-of-the-year award overall, and first with the Cubs.   (AP Photo)
camera-icon View 2 more images

(Newser) – Lou Piniella and his Tampa Bay successor, Joe Maddon, have been voted baseball’s managers of the year, reports. Maddon’s first-ever recognition is no surprise after he led the Rays to their first-ever winning season and the American League pennant. Chicago’s Piniella won the honor—his third, after two with the Seattle Mariners—after leading the Cubs to a National League-best 97 wins.