There’s plenty of hype surrounding Google’s Twitbook-killer Buzz, but the new feature comes with some privacy concerns, too. The problem lies in Buzz’s default settings, Silicon Alley Insider reports, which, if not changed, could expose not only the email contacts of those following you, but also your own email address.
If, for instance, you don’t want your profile to show up in Google searches, you must make it semi-public. And even then, PC World adds, anyone who knows its URL can access it and its contents. That URL might contain your username—in which case you might want to change it, too (at the risk of making it tough to remember). Google made some tweaks late today, CNET reports, asking users about how they want to be viewed at their first login, and making it easier to change various settings.
- For more privacy tips, click the PC World link above or at right.