Color-Coded Threat Levels Getting Scrapped

New system will be introduced in April
By Rob Quinn,  Newser Staff
Posted Jan 27, 2011 2:25 AM CST
The threat level has not been lowered below yellow, the system's third tier out of five, since it was introduced in early 2002.   (?Jaako)
camera-icon View 1 more image

(Newser) – Today's threat level is yellow—as it has been since 2006—but it won't be any color at all by the end of April. Homeland Security Secretary Janet Napolitano will announce Thursday that the much-maligned five-color advisory code introduced after the September 11 attacks is to be scrapped, ABC reports. It will be replaced with a more descriptive and localized public advisory system to be known as the National Terror Advisory System.

"The old color-coded system taught Americans to be scared, not prepared. Each and every time the threat level was raised, very rarely did the public know the reason, how to proceed, or for how long to be on alert." said Rep. Bennie Thompson, the ranking Democrat on the House Homeland Security Commission. "I applaud the Secretary for her decision to create a common sense approach to alerting the public when credible threats arise."

My Take on This Story
Show results without voting  |