SNL Will Do Something It's Never Done Before
It's going live across the country
By Arden Dier,  Newser Staff
Posted Mar 17, 2017 7:56 AM CDT
Shrink
Colin Jost and Michael Che, right, appear during Weekend Update segment of "Saturday Night Live."   (Will Heath/NBC via AP)
camera-icon View 1 more image

(Newser) – Beginning April 15, Saturday Night Live will truly be live across America for the first time in its 42-year history. For the last four episodes of the current season, SNL—normally delayed in the West—will be aired live across all time zones at 11:30pm Eastern, 10:30pm Central, 9:30pm Mountain, and 8:30pm Pacific so "everyone is in on the joke at the same time," NBC's chairman of entertainment says, per CNNMoney.

Those four episodes won't be the last you see of the SNL cast until the fall. Deadline reports NBC will also show a 30-minute primetime version of SNL's "Weekend Update" featuring Colin Jost, Michael Che, and other cast members. The four-week run, which begins August 10, isn't a first for the show: Seth Meyers and Amy Poehler sat behind the desk in the run-up to Election 2008, and it returned briefly in 2009 and 2012. (A recent SNL skit got pretty gross.)

My Take on This Story
Show results without voting  |  
10%
13%
6%
48%
0%
23%