7 New Wonders Wear Crown

Online poll spreads the wealth to South America, Asia
By M. Morris,  Newser Staff
Posted Jul 7, 2007 6:26 PM CDT
Children play on the banks of the Yamuna River, as a reflection of the Taj Mahal is seen on the water, in the northern Indian city of Agra, Thursday, June 14, 2007. The Taj Mahal is among the leading...   (Associated Press)
camera-icon View 6 more images

(Newser) – The largest online poll ever conducted wrapped up yesterday, and today the results became official. The seven wonders of the modern world, which were announced in Portugal, include an Asian engineering triumph and a South American religious monument, but not the Great Pyramid of Giza—the Egyptian government refused to cooperate with the competition.

The new wonders:

  1. The Great Wall of China
  2. The Colosseum, Rome, Italy
  3. Petra, Jordan
  4. Christ the Redeemer statue, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
  5. The Taj Mahal, Agra, India
  6. Machu Picchu, Peru
  7. Chichen Itza, Mexico