So Who Gets the 22 Pens?

The main players, along with some not-so-familiar names
By John Johnson,  Newser Staff
Posted Mar 24, 2010 11:13 AM CDT
Twenty-two pens are seen as President Obama signs the health care reform bill in the East Room of the White House.   (AP Photo/Charles Dharapak)

(Newser) – President Obama is keeping one of the 22 pens he used to sign the health care bill and doling out the others. The recipients, as noted by the Washington Post:

  • The obvious: Joe Biden, Nancy Pelosi, and Harry Reid
  • Honoraries: Ted Kennedy's wife, Vicki, and Sister Carol Keehan, a Catholic nun who gave an important endorsement.

  • Other lawmakers and bigwigs: Sens. Dick Durbin, Max Baucus, Tom Harkin, and Chris Dodd; Reps. Steny Hoyer, James Clyburn, John Dingell, George Miller, Henry Waxman, Sander Levin, and Charlie Rangel; HHS chief Kathleen Sebelius; and White House adviser Nancy-Ann DeParle.
  • Posterity: Two go to the National Archives.
  • Who? Phil Schiliro, the White House congressional liaison.

My Take on This Story
Show results without voting  |