Remains of the Day Author Wins Nobel in Literature

Britain's Kazuo Ishiguro is the 2017 laureate
By Newser Editors,  Newser Staff
Posted Oct 5, 2017 6:13 AM CDT
Remains of the Day Author Wins Nobel in Literature
Author Kazuo Ishiguro is the new Nobel winner.   (AP Photo/Evan Agostini)

After last year's unconventional decision to give Bob Dylan the Nobel Prize in Literature, the panel went a more traditional route this year: The winner announced Thursday is British novelist Kazuo Ishiguro, perhaps best known as the author of Remains of the Day. Ishiguro, “in novels of great emotional force, has uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world," says the Nobel press release. Other works include The Unconsoled, When We Were Orphans, Never Let Me Go, and, more recently, The Buried Giant.

Ishiguro won the Man Booker Prize for Remains of the Day in 1989, per the Guardian, and the novel was turned into a popular film starring Anthony Hopkins and Emma Thompson. “Ishiguro’s writings are marked by a carefully restrained mode of expression, independent of whatever events are taking place,” the prize committee wrote, per the New York Times. “At the same time, his more recent fiction contains fantastic features.” His 2005 work Never Let Me Go added a "cold undercurrent of science fiction" to the author's work, it adds. (More Nobel Prize for Literature stories.)

Get breaking news in your inbox.
What you need to know, as soon as we know it.
Sign up
Get the news faster.
Tap to install our app.
Install the Newser News app
in two easy steps:
1. Tap in your navigation bar.
2. Tap to Add to Home Screen.