Supreme Court Allows Full Travel Ban

The president can implement his full ban on travelers from eight countries while legal challenges move forward
By Josh Rosenblatt,  Newser Staff
Posted Dec 4, 2017 4:07 PM CST
Supreme Court Allows Full Travel Ban
President Donald Trump   (AP Photo/Rick Bowmer)

The Supreme Court handed Donald Trump a victory today, allowing his administration to enforce its full travel ban while challenges to the law work their way through lower courts. The Court's decision reverses the earlier rulings of two federal judges, both of whom determined the administration could only block people from the eight countries on the ban list who have no "bona fide" relationship with a person or entity in the United States, the Hill reports. The current ban, Trump's third, blocks most travelers from Syria, Libya, Iran, Yemen, Chad, Somalia, North Korea, and Venezuela, six of which are majority-Muslim countries.

Some of the language attorneys have used in support of exemptions for those travelers with bona fide relationships in the United States stems from the Supreme Court's own decision last June on the administration's second travel ban, the Washington Post reports. Oral arguments are set to begin soon in two federal cases to determine if Trump exceeded his powers on immigration, and while the Supreme Court gave no reason for its decision today, it did say it expects those cases to move quickly. Justices Ruth Bader Ginsburg and Sonia Sotomayor both said they would have denied the government's request. (More US Supreme Court stories.)

Get the news faster.
Tap to install our app.
Install the Newser News app
in two easy steps:
1. Tap in your navigation bar.
2. Tap to Add to Home Screen.