2nd Debate Will Have New Rules

Democratic candidates are back at it Tuesday and Wednesday nights
By Newser Editors,  Newser Staff
Posted Jul 30, 2019 7:23 AM CDT

(Newser) – The Democratic candidates are back for their second debate, and once again the festivities will be split over two nights—10 candidates each on Tuesday and Wednesday nights. Unlike the first debate on NBC, the second one on CNN will not feature raise-your-hand or yes-or-no questions, reports the AP. Candidates will get 60 seconds to answer questions and 30 seconds for rebuttals. The moderators are Jake Tapper, Don Lemon, and Dana Bash. Here's a preview:

  • When: The debates will run 8 to 10pm Tuesday and Wednesday on CNN. A free online stream will be available at CNN.com.
  • Who: Tuesday's lineup (in order of how they'll appear on stage, per CBS) is Marianne Williamson, Tim Ryan, Amy Klobuchar, Pete Buttigieg, Bernie Sanders, Elizabeth Warren, Beto O'Rourke, John Hickenlooper, John Delaney, and Steve Bullock. Wednesday's lineup is Michael Bennet, Kirsten Gillibrand, Julian Castro, Cory Booker, Joe Biden, Kamala Harris, Andrew Yang, Tulsi Gabbard, Jay Inslee, and Bill de Blasio.
  • Tuesday's big show: The most anticipated matchup Tuesday night is between progressives Elizabeth Warren and Bernie Sanders. Politico has a preview, noting that things have stayed largely cordial between the pair. On Tuesday, they're more likely to spar with other moderate candidates than with each other.

We use cookies. By Clicking "OK" or any content on this site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. Read more in our privacy policy.