A Dozen Republicans Voted Against Tax Plan

Lawmakers from high-tax states join Democrats in opposition
By Newser Editors,  Newser Staff
Posted Dec 19, 2017 4:08 PM CST

(Newser) – When House Republicans vote on their tax plan for a second time Wednesday, it's likely that 12 of their own lawmakers will be joining Democrats in voting no. The House passed the measure 227-203 on Tuesday, but some parliamentary logistics mean they'll have to do it again on Wednesday. In Tuesday's vote, 12 Republicans voted no, reports CNN. As Bloomberg explains, names from New York, New Jersey, and California (though only two from the latter) are on the list because legislators in those high-tax states oppose a $10,000 cap on state and local deductions for their constituents. The other lawmaker, Walter Jones of North Carolina, is worried about the plan's effect on the national debt. Here are the 12 that GOP leaders were unable to sway:

We use cookies. By Clicking "OK" or any content on this site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. Read more in our privacy policy.
Get the news faster.
Tap to install our app.