White House Doesn't Blink: 'The Order Remains in Place'

As the attorneys general in 15 states come out against it
By Kate Seamons,  Newser Staff
Posted Jan 29, 2017 3:28 PM CST

(Newser) – US District Court Judge Ann Donnelly issued an injunction barring the government from deporting anyone during an emergency hearing Saturday night in Brooklyn, and her court was not the only one to do so. Reuters reports that judges in three additional states—Massachusetts, Virginia, and Washington state—have since followed suit. Reuters points out that these legal moves are curbs that do not eradicate President Trump's executive order that severely limits immigration, but observes "the growing number ... could complicate the administration's effort to enforce it." The former is exactly what an unnamed senior White House official pointed out, reportedly telling NBC's Kelly O'Donnell such rulings do "not undercut the President's executive order."

story continues below

The official continues, "All stopped visas will remain stopped. All halted admissions will remain halted. All restricted travel will remain prohibited. ... The order remains in place." But the pressure shows no sign of easing: The AP reports that the attorneys general of 15 states and the District of Columbia will issue a joint statement branding Trump's ban as unconstitutional and at odds with "a bedrock principle" of the US: religious liberty. The states: Washington, California, New York, Pennsylvania, Massachusetts, Hawaii, Virginia, Oregon, Connecticut, Vermont, Illinois, New Mexico, Iowa, Maine, and Maryland. What Trump had to say Sunday morning on Twitter: "Our country needs strong borders and extreme vetting, NOW. Look what is happening all over Europe and, indeed, the world - a horrible mess!" (Read more Trump travel ban stories.)

We use cookies. By Clicking "OK" or any content on this site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. Read more in our privacy policy.
Get the news faster.
Tap to install our app.