7 Nominees Confirmed; Clinton Vote Tomorrow

By Harry Kimball,  Newser Staff
Posted Jan 20, 2009 4:58 PM CST

(Newser) – The Senate met after the inauguration today and promptly confirmed seven of President Obama’s nominees by unanimous vote, with the notable exception of Hillary Clinton, the Chicago Tribune reports. A vote on Clinton has been scheduled for tomorrow after Harry Reid and Sen. John Cronyn, who has concerns about the Clinton Foundation’s disclosures, struck a deal, the Hill notes.

story continues below

Those confirmed unanimously were Ken Salazar for Interior, Steven Chu for Energy, Arne Duncan for Education, Janet Napolitano for Homeland Security, Eric Shinseki for VA, Tom Vilsack for Agriculture, and Peter Orszag for OMB. Other nominees who await a tougher vote are Eric Holder (AG), Hilda Solis (Labor), and Timothy Geithner (Treasury).

We use cookies. By Clicking "OK" or any content on this site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. Read more in our privacy policy.
Get the news faster.
Tap to install our app.