Just Reverse the Call, Bud!

Shouldn't Bud Selig just set matters right?
By Kevin Spak,  Newser Staff
Posted Jun 3, 2010 11:22 AM CDT

(Newser) – The baseball world is up in arms over the blown call that cost Armando Galarraga his perfect game. So here's a radical idea: Why can't Bud Selig just reverse the dang call? “Only a grinch would protest such a thing,” writes Dave Sheinin of the Washington Post. And “if Selig is powerful enough to have canceled a World Series, I'm guessing he is powerful enough to erase one measly infield single.”

story continues below

Mike Lupica of the New York Post agrees. Selig would be “righting a wrong. Not just for the pitcher. For the umpire, too.” But Craig Calcaterra over at NBC Sports is willing to play grinch. “Galarraga doesn't get to go back onto the field and have his teammates mob him,” he reasons. “All that would be changed is a notation in a record book.” Bad calls happen all the time; if Selig reversed this one, where would he stop? (Read more baseball stories.)

We use cookies. By Clicking "OK" or any content on this site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. Read more in our privacy policy.
Get the news faster.
Tap to install our app.
Install the Newser News app
in two easy steps:
1. Tap in your navigation bar.
2. Tap to Add to Home Screen.