See This Year's Medal of Freedom Winners

Bill Clinton, Oprah, Gloria Steinem among recipients
By Newser Editors and Wire Services
Posted Nov 20, 2013 5:00 PM CST
See This Year's Medal of Freedom Winners
President Obama awards the Medal of Freedom to Bill Clinton.   (AP Photo/Pablo Martinez Monsivais)

President Obama today recognized 16 Americans with the Presidential Medal of Freedom, an award whose modern version was created by John F. Kennedy. Among the honorees were Bill Clinton, Oprah, and Gloria Steinem. In addition to those pictured, astronaut Sally Ride, former Hawaii Sen. Daniel Inouye, and civil rights leader Bayard Rustin got the award posthumously. Click for more details on the honorees. (Read more Presidential Medal of Freedom stories.)

We use cookies. By Clicking "OK" or any content on this site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. Read more in our privacy policy.
Get the news faster.
Tap to install our app.
Install the Newser News app
in two easy steps:
1. Tap in your navigation bar.
2. Tap to Add to Home Screen.