Trump Reveals Winners of 'Fake News Awards'

4 CNN stories made list of 10
By Rob Quinn,  Newser Staff
Posted Jan 18, 2018 3:33 AM CST
Updated Jan 18, 2018 6:03 AM CST
President Trump speaks during a Congressional Gold Medal ceremony honoring former Sen. Bob Dole on Capitol Hill, Wednesday, Jan. 17, 2018, in Washington.   (AP Photo/Evan Vucci)
camera-icon View 2 more images

(Newser) – Stephen Colbert and other late-night hosts experienced real disappointment Wednesday night when President Trump revealed the winners of his inaugural Fake News Awards: The "honors" went to the New York Times, CNN, ABC, the Washington Post, Time, and Newsweek. In a list of 10 winners posted on the GOP website, which promptly crashed, the No. 1 award went to a New York Times opinion piece in which Paul Krugman "claimed on the day of President Trump's historic, landslide victory that the economy would never recover." The Times won two awards, with four for CNN and one apiece for the other outlets. More:

  • Other winners. The runners-up included the erroneous Brian Ross Russia-Trump story that caused ABC to suspend him, and CNN's claim that Trump and Donald Trump Jr. had access to hacked emails from WikiLeaks. Time was at No. 4 for "falsely reporting that Trump removed a bust of Martin Luther King Jr. from the White House."

My Take on This Story
Show results  |