These Are the 2 Democrats Who Voted No

Collin Peterson and Jeff Van Drew went against party in impeachment inquiry
By Evann Gastaldo,  Newser Staff
Posted Oct 31, 2019 1:24 PM CDT
In this Sept. 2, 2014, file photo, Rep. Collin Peterson, D-Minn., listens to a question in Hot Springs, Ark.   (AP Photo/Danny Johnston, File)
camera-icon View 1 more image

(Newser) – Why are a bunch of people tweeting about #2dems? Because two Democrats voted against the House impeachment inquiry, and they're coming under fire for their "nay" votes. Reps. Collin Peterson (Minn.) and Jefferson Van Drew (NJ), both moderates who represent swing districts Trump won in 2016, voted no on the resolution, per the Hill. All House Republicans also voted no; Justin Amash, who left the GOP and is now an independent, voted yes. The #2dems' comments after the vote, and more, below:

  • Peterson: "I have some serious concerns with the way the closed-door depositions were run, and am skeptical that we will have a process that is open, transparent and fair. Today’s vote is both unnecessary, and widely misrepresented in the media and by Republicans as a vote on impeachment. I will not make a decision on impeachment until all the facts have been presented." He also called it a "mistake" to move forward on the impeachment inquiry without support from Senate Republicans.
  • Van Drew: "Without bipartisan support, I believe this inquiry will further divide the country, tearing it apart at the seams and will ultimately fail in the Senate. However, now that the vote has taken place and we are moving forward I will be making a judgement call based on all the evidence presented by these investigations."

My Take on This Story
Show results  |