New Trump Travel Ban Affects 8 Countries

N. Korea, Venezuela added to list
By Newser Editors and Wire Services
Posted Sep 25, 2017 12:22 AM CDT
New Trump Travel Ban Includes N.Korea
President Trump speaks to reporters upon his return to the White House in Washington, Sunday, Sept. 24, 2017.   (Manuel Balce Ceneta)

Citizens of eight countries, including North Korea and Venezuela, will face new restrictions on entry to the US under a proclamation signed by President Trump on Sunday that will replace his expiring travel ban. The new rules, which will impact the citizens of Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria, Venezuela, and Yemen, will go into effect on October 18, the AP reports. The restrictions range from an indefinite ban on visas for citizens of countries like Syria to more targeted restrictions. A suspension of non-immigrant visas to citizens for Venezuela, for instance, will apply only to certain government officials and their immediate families.

The announcement comes the same day as Trump's temporary ban on visitors from six Muslim-majority countries was set to expire. That ban barred citizens of Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen who lack a "credible claim of a bona fide relationship with a person or entity in the United States" from entering the US. Only one of those countries, Sudan, will no longer be subject to travel restrictions. "Making America Safe is my number one priority. We will not admit those into our country we cannot safely vet," Trump tweeted late Sunday after the new policy was announced. Unlike the first iteration of Trump's travel ban, which sparked chaos at airports across the country and a flurry of legal challenges, officials stressed they had been working for months on the new rules, in collaboration with various agencies and in conversation with foreign governments. (More Trump travel ban stories.)

Get the news faster.
Tap to install our app.
Install the Newser News app
in two easy steps:
1. Tap in your navigation bar.
2. Tap to Add to Home Screen.