Golden Globes Hands Out First-Ever Carol Burnett Award

To Carol Burnett, obviously
By Evann Gastaldo,  Newser Staff
Posted Jan 6, 2019 8:13 PM CST
Golden Globes Establishes Carol Burnett Award
Carol Burnett arrives at the 76th annual Golden Globe Awards at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on Sunday, Jan. 6, 2019, in Beverly Hills, Calif.   (Photo by Jordan Strauss/Invision/AP)

Calling it "the greatest honor of my life," Steve Carell on Sunday night presented Carol Burnett with the first-ever Carol Burnett Award. The Hollywood Foreign Press Association, the organization behind the Golden Globes award show, has been handing out the Cecil B. DeMille Award for lifetime achievement in film since 1952, and this year, the HFPA is adding the Carol Burnett Award as its TV equivalent. Burnett, 85, has won five TV Golden Globes—a record, People reports. As for the Cecil B. DeMille Award, this year's recipient is Jeff Bridges, Newsweek reports. (For more on the Golden Globes, keep up with the winners here or read about the opening monologue here.)

Get the news faster.
Tap to install our app.
Install the Newser News app
in two easy steps:
1. Tap in your navigation bar.
2. Tap to Add to Home Screen.