Inside the Heisman Arms Race

How the three candidates shake out
By Kevin Spak,  Newser Staff
Posted Dec 13, 2008 1:26 PM CST

(Newser) – Each was a dominant performer who steered his team into title contention and, for the first time since 2001, each is a quarterback. So how will voters pick between Tim Tebow, Sam Bradford, and Colt McCoy, this year’s Heisman contenders? The winner will be announced tonight, and no clear favorite has emerged. One voter, 2001 winner Eric Crouch, gave the Washington Post a look at his ballot, in which he had Bradford first, McCoy second, and Tebow last.

story continues below

Tebow won last year, and he finished strong this year to lead Florida to the BCS title game. But his slow start and statistical decline sank him for Crouch. McCoy, meanwhile, racked up the highest single-season completion record in NCAA history (74.9%) while leading Texas in rushing with 576 yards. But to Crouch, even that couldn’t match Bradford’s performance atop a stunning Oklahoma offense that scored 702 points. (Read more Tim Tebow stories.)

We use cookies. By Clicking "OK" or any content on this site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. Read more in our privacy policy.
Get the news faster.
Tap to install our app.