Yzerman, Hull, Robitaille, Leetch Headed to NHL Hall

By Harry Kimball,  Newser Staff
Posted Jun 23, 2009 4:42 PM CDT
Montreal Canadiens Matt Higgins is upended by New York Rangers Brian Leetch in 1999.   (AP Photo)
camera-icon View 4 more images

(Newser) – This year's NHL Hall of Fame class is a stellar one, TSN reports. All three forwards inducted—Brett Hull, Steve Yzerman, and Luc Robitaille—are among the top 10 scorers in pro hockey history. Brian Leetch, meanwhile, was a two-time winner of the Norris Trophy, awarded to the league’s top defenseman. Also to be inducted in November is Lou Lamoriello, who as general manager built three Stanley Cup winners for New Jersey.

Hull, who flourished with the Dallas Stars, joins his father in the Hall. “It is hard to put into words what this means to me,” he said. Hull, Yzerman, and Robitaille joined up to win the Stanley Cup for Detroit in 2002; Leetch will forever be known for bringing the Cup back to the New York Rangers in 1994. (Read more hockey stories.)